You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/28/2020 12:36 pm  #1

Diamond Hones

Thinking of replacing my Peterson power stroke hone, are the diamond hone machines Rottler sells really any better than the conventional power stroke hones, 60K thats a awfull lot of money for a hone

4/09/2020 11:24 pm  #2

Re: Diamond Hones

Well Archie I have been asking that same question for a few years now and the only conclusion I can draw is in alot of cases they can be much more cost effective then conventional vitrified stones we have used for years.

I use the example of shops that do not bore to .003-.005 before finished size to hone to size they just use a roughing stone and a selection of other stones to get to size and desired ring finish. 
EG: If you use a EHU 123 stone set to rough out blocks depending on hardness of the block you mat get 4-5 large bore blocks before they are done. Diamonds on the other hand may do 100+ blocks and keep going as long as they do not get crashed which happens from time to time we have all been there but there is a learning curve for finish to go through and a profilometer is a must have item to get it perfect with diamonds.
I have a CV-616 and while there is a diamond setup available from Sunnen for this machine I know guys that use them on a Ck-10 but for roughing only then vitrified to finished size like usual.

Back in the day K-Line sold diamond hone heads for Sunnen and other machines as well as others but there is a difference in stone numbers on the hone head. Some have 4 dual stones some have 6-8 single stone segments.
The coolant is also water based not a bad thing but its subject to developing a fungus like wet surfacers do when not used for a long time and the coolant goes rancid and smells like crap.