You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

5/10/2015 9:37 pm  #1

Vacuum Gauge Getting me down...

I have been happily cranking out heads that I thought were good. They seem to test out using old methods like Sharpies and Blueing. I had a guy bring in a vacuum tester and found I was failing

I tried to beat the vacuum gauge with lapping, polishing, but all seemed to fail! I just don't seem to be able to get a tight seal. I can get it so that if I put a little engine oil around the valve it is sealed, but not with a clean metal to metal surface.

I use a Winona CMC30 with 3 angle cutters. In my attempt to beat the vacuum gauge I used finishing stones, lapping compounds, rubbing compounds, and polishing compounds.
(You can probably tell I am not a trained professional, just an old guy in a small rural town who likes to play.)

How successful are you, and how do you get there? or is an air tight seal not possible until the engine has run a few miles?

Last edited by davehagen (5/14/2015 8:12 am)

5/11/2015 12:45 pm  #2

Re: Vacuum Gauge Getting me down...

Bob,
 How much vacuum are you trying to pull on it ?  Try smacking the top of the valve with a medium size plastic hammer a few times after you assemble the head, then see what happens ? I have done that for years just to make sure all of the retainers and locks are seated properly. Kind of hard to do on recessed valves though.

I use red Dykem on the seats and lap all of the valves with 320 grit lapping compound. Just a few strokes and you will see if it is hitting the seat all the way around.

Bill Koustenis
Advanced Automotive Machine
Waldorf Md
www.enginerepairshop.com

5/11/2015 6:13 pm  #3